(A*-G) vs (9-1)


New Edexcel International GCSE (9–1) qualifications have been specially designed for international students. As a result, they include more international content.The diagram on the  shows how the new scale aligns to the existing A*– G grading structure.


Grade 9 represents a new level of attainment for the very top performers and is higher than an A* grade. With 9 levels of performance in the new grading scale, rather than the 8 in the current grading scale. Grade 7 aligned to current A grades. Grade (4, 5 and 6) aligned to the current C and B grades. This means that the 9–1 grading scale rewards top grade C students with a new grade 5, and top B grade students with a new grade 6, motivating students and supporting progression.


The first exam will be conducted from May 2019 session under this new grading structure.

Edexcel IGCSE (1-9) Specification
Edexcel IGCSE (1-9) Specification.pdf
Adobe Acrobat Document 896.3 KB
PAPAER: 1 > Sample Paper & Mark Schemes
IGCSE (1-9) Paper 1 - Sample Paper & Mar
Adobe Acrobat Document 1'016.1 KB
PAPAER: 2 > Sample Paper & Mark Schemes
IGCSE (1-9) Paper 2 - Sample Paper & Mar
Adobe Acrobat Document 713.3 KB
Edexcel IGCSE (1-9) Parent & Students Guide
Edexcel IGCSE (1-9) Parent Guide.pdf
Adobe Acrobat Document 518.4 KB
Edexcel IGCSE (1-9) Guide to Accounting, Business & Economics
Edexcel IGCSE (1-9) Guide.pdf
Adobe Acrobat Document 2.1 MB